Early Years Foundation Stage

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connect. 


Our practice is shaped by four guided principles.  These are:
•    A Unique Child, 
•    Positive Relationships, 
•    Enabling Environments, 
•    Learning and Development.  


The Early Years Foundation Stage  (EYFS, 2021) is made up of seven areas of learning and development. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, from relationships and thrive.  These three areas, the prime areas, are:

•    Communication and Language.
•    Physical Development
•    Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Children are also supported in the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.  The specific areas are:

•    Literacy.
•    Mathematics
•    Understanding the World
•    Expressive Arts and Design


The EYFS curriculum is presented to the children through their interest, thus making learning rich and purposeful.  Planning starts with observing children in order to understand and consider their current interests and then planning for each child individually. 

For more information about the EYFS, download the link below.

A Parent's Guide to 'What to Expect and When.'
Adobe Acrobat document [5.9 MB]
A Parent's Guide to EYFS
Adobe Acrobat document [735.7 KB]
Physical Activity guidelines for infants who are not yet walking
Adobe Acrobat document [506.1 KB]
Physical Activity Guidelines for Children under 5 who are walking
Adobe Acrobat document [540.1 KB]
Print | Sitemap
© Anna-Ca-Soo Day Nursery